Lemon Scented Banana Bread

June 11, 2012 at 7:39 pm | Posted in bread, Loaf | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Lemon Scented Banana Bread

Adapted from Dunk & Crumble

After mixing the lemon zest and sugar, the hint of lemon smell and tinge of yellow smells so good and look so pretty 😀

Image

I only had 3/4 of a lemon at home so I grated as much zest as I can and added in 1 tsp of lemon extract. 

Ingredients:

  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter (90ml)
  • 3/4 cup sugar (I used 1/2 c.) 
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lemon zest
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg (I sub. with cinnamon) 
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups mashed banana (from about 3 large ripe bananas)
  • 1/4 cup ricotta cheese (can substitute plain yogurt or sour cream)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp lemon extract

Directions:  

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Butter and flour a standard-sized loaf pan and set aside.

In a small pan, heat the butter until fully melted, and set aside to cool.  In a medium sized bowl, rub the sugar and lemon zest together with the tips of your fingers to release the oils in the zest, until the sugar is tinted the slightest shade of yellow.  Add the flour, baking soda, salt and nutmeg and whisk to combine.

In a large bowl, combine the mashed banana with the eggs, ricotta and vanilla and whisk thoroughly until combined and lump-free.  Add the dry ingredients, all at once, to the bowl with the wet ingredients, and use a rubber spatula to gently stir the batter together.  Stir just until the batter is streak-free — don’t overmix the batter, lest you like chewy, tough bread.

Pour the batter into your prepared pan, and bake until a skewer inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean, about 1 hour.  Cool the bread in the pan on a wire rack for 5 minutes, and then invert the cake from the pan and cool to room temperature.  Banana bread keeps for about 5 days well-wrapped at room temperature, and also freezes well, when wrapped tightly in both plastic wrap and tin foil.

Makes 1 loaf cake, for about 8 servings.

I don’t see where it says to add in the butter so I added it in the wet ingredient before adding in the dry.

Maybe I’ll make double banana pound cake next time I have ripen bananas sitting around yelling at me to bake something banana again :9

Image

You ugly looking loaf of banana bread 😡

Image

this is how it looks if you over mixed it.. very smooth and dense with no texture ;( *sniffsniff*

I typed up the top part as I was waiting for it to bake for one good hour… I took it out to cool then went out to play ultimate 😀 but I’m disappointed after I get home… I had trouble mixing the dry into wet and it seems like I over mixed it due to the overly smooth and dense texture(seemed undercook but is not).. also I wouldn’t add in the lemon extract because the overly strong lemon smell is weird… 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

